Miravalles Volcano and Hot Springs Tour: Crater, Waterfall and Thermal Stop
This Miravalles volcano and hot springs tour runs 7 to 9 hours from Playas del Coco, Liberia or Nacascolo and packs three very different stops into one day: a walkable crater area on the volcano, a swim at a natural rainforest waterfall, and a thermal springs visit before the drive back. Lunch and a bottle of water are included, and the price is $190 per person. It is a shared trip for up to 20 travelers, so the pace depends on the group. One thing to know before booking: the listing does not name the specific springs venue, and this page tells you what to ask the operator. For a wider view of Costa Rica hot springs tours across all three volcanic regions, the comparison on Costa Rica hot springs tour is the place to start.
About This Tour
The day runs from Guanacaste's coast into the Miravalles volcanic belt, one of the hot spring regions in the country alongside Rincón de la Vieja and Arenal. The first stop is a walkable crater area on the live volcano, where the geothermal ground is open on foot rather than viewed from a platform. After that the vehicle moves into rainforest for a swim at a natural waterfall, then finishes at a thermal springs stop before lunch and the drive back.
The operator is Costa Rica Unique Transfers and Tours, the trip is shared with up to 20 travelers, and transport is a round-trip air-conditioned vehicle with pickup included from three meeting points. The listing does not state how long you actually soak, the departure clock time or the name of the springs venue, so confirm those directly before you commit. Families should note that infants ride in a pram or stroller and a car seat costs extra.
$190 per person, shared group. Not included: $20 (USD) per child car seat, billed separately if needed.
7 to 9 hours door to door, covering the crater walk, the waterfall swim, the springs stop and lunch.
Two kinds of water in one day: a natural rainforest waterfall for swimming, and a thermal springs visit. The listing does not name the springs venue or say whether it is built pools or a river setting. Ask the operator which venue you will be taken to.
Lunch, one bottle of water per person, round-trip air-conditioned vehicle and hotel pickup from the operator's Playas del Coco office, Plaza Santa Rosa in Liberia or El Jardin in Nacascolo.
None stated. The listing gives no fixed soak time at either the waterfall or the springs, so ask how long each stop lasts before booking.
Free cancellation up to 24 hours before the scheduled departure time for a full refund, and the trip is refundable if canceled for bad weather.
Check Dates and Availability
Live dates for this 7 to 9 hour shared trip are shown on the operator's booking page. Group size is capped at 20 travelers, so popular dates can fill.
You'll confirm the exact date and time on the secure booking page.
Quick answer The short version
This Miravalles volcano and hot springs tour costs $190 per person and lasts 7 to 9 hours from Playas del Coco, Liberia or Nacascolo, with lunch and a bottle of water included.
Key takeaways
- The price covers the crater walk, a rainforest waterfall swim, a thermal springs stop, lunch and round-trip transport, but a child car seat costs $20 (USD) extra. See what the price covers.
- The springs venue is not named in the listing. If a named, reviewable resort matters to you, Healing Thermals by Sensoria names its three pools.
- Moderate fitness is required and wheelchair access exists only in the thermal springs. Check who this rules out before booking.
- Cancellation is free up to 24 hours before departure. Compare it with other hot springs tours in Costa Rica.
What the Price Actually Covers
The $190 headline is the day's core price, and the listing is clear about three inclusions. It is less clear about fees at the edges, so this table separates the confirmed lines from the gaps.
Included, Excluded and Unlisted
The confirmed inclusions are lunch, an air-conditioned vehicle for the round trip, one bottle of water per person and the thermal springs visit itself. The listing's exclusion list is empty, which is unusual: it does not explicitly rule out towels, lockers, drinks or gratuities, and it does not say whether any entry fee for the springs is separate. The only stated extra is $20 (USD) per child car seat. Because the springs venue is unnamed, you cannot check its walk-up price or facilities in advance. The fix is simple: message the operator before booking and ask for the venue name, the soak duration and what is not covered.
If you would rather book a trip where every venue and fee is spelled out, Healing Thermals by Sensoria names its three pools and covers entry in its price, and the Rio Negro hot springs day pass lists exactly which extras stay out.
| Line | In the price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Lunch | Yes | No menu or venue stated in the listing |
| Bottled water | Yes | 1 bottle per person |
| Round-trip transport | Yes | Air-conditioned vehicle, pickup included from three stated meeting points |
| Thermal springs entry | Stated as part of the visit | The listing does not break out an entry fee line item |
| Child car seat | No | $20 (USD) per seat, billed separately |
| Towels, lockers, drinks, gratuities | Not stated | Ask the operator in writing before booking |
Sources: Río Negro Hot Springs, Hacienda Guachipelín, Hacienda Orosi and Rincón de la Vieja Volcano on Wikipedia.
Miravalles Volcano from the Bagaces side. Photo: Andrés Berrocal Soto, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons
What the Day Is Really Like
The listing does not publish clock times or stop durations, so this is the shape of the day as the operator describes it, in order, with the one figure it does give: 7 to 9 hours end to end.
Pickup and the Drive Inland
The day starts at one of three meeting points: the operator's office in Playas del Coco, Plaza Santa Rosa in Liberia in front of Sucre Pharmacy, or El Jardin in Nacascolo, described by the operator as the largest souvenir shop and restaurant in the area. No pickup window or departure time is stated, so confirm your time when booking. From the coast the air-conditioned vehicle heads inland toward the Miravalles volcanic belt in Guanacaste's drier interior.
A large share of a 7 to 9 hour day is road time, and this listing does not state the drive duration.
The Walkable Crater at Miravalles
The first major stop is the walkable crater area on Miravalles, a live volcano whose heat also feeds the region's geothermal power project. This is a walking visit over rugged volcanic terrain rather than a drive-up viewpoint, which is why the listing requires at least moderate fitness. The badge the operator gives the trip, walkable crater, is the feature that separates it from spring-only days.
The Rainforest Waterfall Swim
Next the vehicle moves into rainforest for a swim at a natural waterfall. The listing calls the waterfall natural and safe for swimming but does not name it, state the walk in from the vehicle or say how long the stop lasts. Bring a swimsuit, secure footwear for wet rock and a dry change of clothes, since the listing is silent on towels and facilities at this stop.
The Thermal Springs Stop and Lunch
The thermal springs visit is the reason many travelers book, and it is also the vaguest part of the listing: the venue is not named, the pool count is not given and the soak time is not stated. Lunch comes included, and the bottle of water per person is the only drink listed. This is where the honest caution sits: if the springs stop turns out to be short at the end of a long day, that is hard to fix after booking.
Ask the operator for the venue name and the time budgeted there, in writing, before you pay.
Who This Tour Rules Out
The listing states clear limits on fitness, age logistics and mobility. Read them as hard conditions, not suggestions.
Fitness and Mobility Limits
Travelers need at least a moderate level of physical fitness, driven by the walkable crater terrain and the waterfall stop. Wheelchair access exists only in the thermal springs, so the crater and waterfall segments are not accessible to wheelchair users. If a fully accessible soak day is what you need, the Rincon nature thermal day pass is a self-drive park visit where the walking is on trails you choose, or check the region guide for Miravalles hot springs venues you can drive to directly.
Families with Infants and Young Children
Infants and small children can ride in a pram or stroller, and specialized infant seats are available. The catch is the price: each car seat costs $20 (USD) on top of the $190 per person fare, which adds up for a family of four. Age bands run infant 0-3, child 4-9, youth 10-17, adult 18-99.
A family wanting a cheaper, shorter springs day with no volcano walking might prefer the 5-hour Rio Negro hot springs day pass instead.
Travelers Who Need Everything Named
If you want to read about the exact pools, temperatures and resort facilities before paying, this listing does not provide it, and neither can this page. The named-pool alternative in the same volcanic range is Healing Thermals by Sensoria, which states its three pools as Jicara, Danta and Pilon.
A boiling spring inside Rincón de la Vieja National Park, for looking at only. Photo: Flicka, CC BY 2.5, via Wikimedia Commons
What to Settle Before You Book
Most problems with a trip like this come down to four things: the unnamed venue, unstated times, seat fees and what you carry yourself.
Cancellation Terms
Cancel at least 24 hours before the scheduled departure time for a full refund, and the booking is refundable if canceled for bad weather. Inside 24 hours you get nothing back, so book when you are confident about your plans and keep the cancellation deadline in your calendar.
What to Confirm with the Seller in Writing
Three facts the listing leaves out matter most: the name of the thermal springs venue, the pickup time and window for your meeting point, and how long the soak lasts. Ask for all three in the booking message and keep the reply. Also confirm whether any entry fee at the springs is separate, since the listing does not break one out.
What to Bring
Pack a swimsuit and a towel, because the listing includes neither. Water shoes or secure sandals help on wet volcanic rock and at the waterfall. Bring sun protection and extra water for the exposed crater terrain in Guanacaste's hot climate.
Carry cash for anything on site that the listing does not cover, and budget $20 (USD) per child car seat if your family needs one.
Getting There from Where You Sleep
Pickup is included but only from three points: the operator's office in Playas del Coco, Plaza Santa Rosa in Liberia in front of Sucre Pharmacy, or El Jardin in Nacascolo. There is no stated door-to-door hotel pickup window, so travelers staying elsewhere in Guanacaste need to arrange their own way to one of these three points and confirm the time. If your hotel is in the Papagayo area or further afield, ask the operator about logistics before assuming pickup reaches you.
For context on how where you sleep shapes which springs are a day trip, see the guide to hot springs tours in Costa Rica.
Hour by Hour on the Day
The listing gives an overall duration of 7 to 9 hours but no clock times, so the steps below follow the operator's stated order with times left open.
-
Meet your vehicle
Gather at the operator's Playas del Coco office, Plaza Santa Rosa in Liberia in front of Sucre Pharmacy, or El Jardin in Nacascolo. No pickup time or window is stated, so confirm it when booking.
-
Drive inland to the Miravalles volcanic belt
Ride the air-conditioned vehicle from the coast into Guanacaste's volcanic interior. Drive time is not stated in the listing, and it is part of the 7 to 9 hour total.
-
Walk the crater area at Miravalles Volcano
Explore the walkable live crater terrain on foot. Moderate fitness is required and the ground is rugged volcanic landscape.
-
Swim at a natural rainforest waterfall
Take the swim stop at a natural waterfall the listing describes as safe for swimming. It is not named, and the stop length is not stated.
-
Soak at the thermal springs
Visit the thermal springs, wheelchair accessible at this stop only. The venue is not named, so ask the operator which springs you will be taken to.
-
Lunch
Eat the included lunch, with one bottle of water per person. No menu or venue is stated.
-
Return to your meeting point
Ride back to the same meeting point where the day started. No return time is stated.
What Works and What Does Not
A straight read of the listing, with the trade-offs stated where they fall.
What we genuinely like
- The walkable crater is the day's differentiator: most springs trips in Guanacaste skip live volcanic terrain entirely.
- Three different water stops in one day, a waterfall swim, a thermal soak and the crater walk, for $190 per person.
- Lunch, a bottle of water and round-trip air-conditioned transport from three stated meeting points are all included.
- Free cancellation up to 24 hours before departure, and a refund if canceled for bad weather.
- A 4.9 rating across 111 reviews, the strongest score among shared Guanacaste volcano-and-springs trips on this site.
The honest downsides
- The thermal springs venue is never named, so you cannot check its pools, reviews or walk-up price before paying. Ask the operator for the name in writing.
- No soak time, pickup time or return time is stated anywhere in the listing.
- Each child car seat costs $20 (USD) extra on top of the per-person fare.
- Wheelchair access covers the thermal springs only, so the crater and waterfall are out of reach for wheelchair users.
- No towel is included and the group is shared with up to 20 travelers, so the pace is not yours to set. If a private pace matters, compare the private [La Leona waterfall and hot springs tour](/la-leona-waterfall-hot-springs-private-tour/).
Who it's NOT for: Not for travelers who need a named, reviewable springs resort, full wheelchair access to every stop, or a guaranteed block of soak time.
Questions About This Tour
How much does the Miravalles volcano and hot springs tour cost?
$190 per person, shared, with lunch, bottled water and round-trip air-conditioned transport included. The only stated extra is $20 (USD) per child car seat. For other price points in the same region, compare the full list of Costa Rica hot springs tours.
Which hot springs does this tour visit?
The listing does not name the venue, and neither the pool count nor the water type is stated, so ask the operator in writing before booking. If a named venue matters, Healing Thermals by Sensoria states its three pools as Jicara, Danta and Pilon.
Where does the tour pick up?
From three stated points: the operator's office in Playas del Coco, Plaza Santa Rosa in Liberia in front of Sucre Pharmacy, or El Jardin in Nacascolo. No hotel pickup window is published, so confirm your time when booking, and see what to settle before you book.
Is this tour suitable for children?
Yes, with conditions. Age bands run infant 0-3, child 4-9, youth 10-17 and adult 18-99, infants can ride in a pram or stroller, and specialized infant seats are available at $20 (USD) each. The moderate fitness requirement applies to adults on the crater walk.
How long do you spend in the hot springs?
None stated. The listing gives a 7 to 9 hour total for the whole day but no time budget for the springs stop, the waterfall or the crater walk, so ask the operator how the hours are split before you pay.
Can I cancel if my plans change?
Yes, cancel at least 24 hours before the scheduled departure time for a full refund, and the trip is refundable if canceled for bad weather. Inside 24 hours there is no refund.
Is this tour wheelchair accessible?
Partly. The listing states wheelchair access only in the thermal springs, so the crater walk and the waterfall stop are not accessible. For other options, the Rincon nature thermal day pass is a self-drive park visit where you control how much walking you do.
Prices, availability and terms are set by the operator and confirmed at checkout.
We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure